Panneaux solaires

Panneaux solaires

Installés sur chacun des toit supérieurs de notre riad en location, ils produisent l'eau chaude utilisée par notre hôtes. Fabriqués par Dimas Solar, ils améliorent le bilan écologique !

L'écologie à la base du projet

L'écologie à la base du projet

Pas d'ouverture côté sud, pour protéger le riad de la chaleur. Les anciennes techniques berbères étaient déjà écologiques

Piscine creusée

Piscine creusée

Les travaux d'excavation de la piscine ont été pensés d'une manière écologique. La terre a été mélangée à de l'eau et de la paille, pour être transformée en briques de pisé

Construction en briques de pisé

Construction en briques de pisé

La villa a été érigée au moyen de briques de terre crue (pisé), fabriquées sur place et supportées par des montants en béton

Murs écologiques

Murs écologiques

Construits pour garder la fraîcheur à l'intérieur en été et une certaine douceur en hiver. Ici la suite Tiznit.

Our ecological commitment in eight points

Le Jardin aux Etoiles was designed and lives on the basis of a real ecological desire, in a country where, for the majority of the population, daily means of existence take precedence over awareness of the protection of our environment. . But don't we have the responsibility to show, by our behavior, that the future of Morocco also depends on actions that contribute to a better ecological balance? Here are the eight concrete points which are all measures contributing to the protection of our planet.
Ecologique, fraîcheur, berbère
Construction

Your rental riad looks, all windows open, to the north. It is a question of seeking freshness, while the southern facade is completely deprived of openings, in order to preserve the freshness inside, respectively a certain softness in winter.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Perfectly ecological, this construction technique is ancestral. It is that of the Berbers , the first inhabitants of the country, before the Arabs settled there.

Swimming pool
intelligent
Piscine intelligente et écologique

The excavation of the pool was in itself an intelligent ecological act. It was necessary to limit the transport of bricks intended for the construction of the riad, at the same time as to use the earth extracted from the ground, to make mud bricks, namely adobe.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

The cubic meters of land extracted to the north of the villa under construction (photo) thus made it possible to build almost the entire villa.

pisé, écologique
Natural air conditioning
Recycled water
puits, recyclage, eau

The mud bricks (photo) were dried in the sun. Made of a mixture of earth, straw and water, they have been cemented, to create the walls of your rental villa. Concrete pillars ensured the solidity of the whole, like a game of meccano.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Rammed earth provides natural air conditioning, and not only in Morocco, but throughout Africa. In summer, in strong heat, the temperature of our indoor rooms is 10 degrees lower than outside. In winter, rammed earth maintains a certain heat inside. However, we have additional heaters and mobile ventilation devices for the comfort of our guests, the only concession made to our ecological desire. To this is added our living room fireplace.

The water used by the guests of our rental riad is recycled . Drawn from the water table, thanks to a well 120 meters deep and stored in our water tower, to give the necessary pressure, the water from the Jardin aux Etoiles returns to the water table.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Gray water is in fact recovered by the pipes, first inside the building, then up to a separator located outside the riad. This concrete chamber allows the sludge to be recovered later. The resulting clear water ends up in a well more than five meters deep. The latter has a natural filter formed of pebbles. Our photo shows the excavation work of this well, carried out with a pickaxe!

déchets, écologique
Waste
solaire, panneaux
Solar panels

Sorting waste is very difficult to achieve in southern Morocco. Under the double sink in the kitchen, however, we have installed two bins. One is designed to receive compostable waste: leftover fruit, vegetables, flowers. The other is for all other waste.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

This temporary solution does not satisfy us. Of course, we manage to carry out a first sorting and recover the fertilizer soil. But other waste cannot be reused, in the absence of any possibility of differentiated collection (metal, glass, cardboard, paper). There is nevertheless an association called actionprogres.com (photo) which had started a very commendable work of ecological sorting. Unfortunately, good intentions were lost along the way, as too often in Morocco, and they remained with the award of a prize from the Moroccan Committee for Responsible Tourism (sic) . Let us hope nevertheless for a resurrection ...

Your riad is equipped with two thermal solar panels . Installed above the Taroudant and Agadir bedrooms (photo), they heat the water consumed in the bathrooms and in the kitchen. These are devices from the Greek brand Dimas Solar. Electricity is thus preciously saved.

Dependent on its imports, hence quite frequent cuts to the network, Morocco is making great efforts to produce its own electrical energy - which is currently excessively expensive for the consumer - thanks to parks solar like that of Ouarzazate.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

At the Jardin aux Etoiles, the next ecological step could be to install solar panels to produce electricity. Moroccan artisans are, however, far from mastering techniques related to solar energy for individuals. Caution is therefore in order ...

Une muraille verte
Green wall
IMG_20191018_064653_956.jpg
Champagne from Ouled Alioua

The Jardin aux Etoiles is surrounded by a magnificent green wall . It is made up of hundreds of prickly pears (our photo), which give pretty yellow flowers in spring and fruits in summer, as well as native cacti planted during the construction of the riad. Brambles were added when necessary, as well as trees on the west side, to protect the orange, tangerine and grapefruit trees from the sea wind.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

As in all of southern Morocco, our prickly pears have been attacked by the cochineal. This penetrates into the stems and produces a white mass which gives it a cottony appearance. The cochineal feeds on the sap of the plant which eventually weakens or even disappears. In mid-2019, we therefore had to undertake a large and expensive operation to destroy the contaminated poles. Quickly, new, very green shoots appeared. We have also installed a special drip tip for our prickly pears, in the hope that our efforts will pay off.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Attached to the idea that a house should be surrounded by a high masonry wall, some Moroccans do not understand the ecological and visual interest of a green wall. Let us reassure them from the point of view of safety: our wall, which is one meter wide and at least two high, is just as secure, if not more so, than a high wall. And, at the Jardin aux Etoiles, our dogs would take care of welcoming any unwelcome visitors in their own way ... Not to mention our observation cameras - partly solar, as it should be. Let’s say no more ...

We invented the "Champagne of Ouled Alioua" . What is this new vintage? Of course, our garden includes several vines. But not enough to produce our wine ... No, this drink is both a wink and a contribution to a better environment.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Wink ? The use of the term Champagne refers to the famous French sparkling wine, synonymous with excellence and celebration around the world. But Champagne is also the name of a Swiss town, close to one of the places of origin of the owner and creator of the Jardin aux Etoiles. And it turns out that this town also produces wine ... whose name has been banned under bilateral agreements with the European Union and a judgment of the European Court of Justice, which is scandalous. The first vines were probably planted there by the Romans, long before the invention of the prestigious French wine by Dom Pérignon. The origin of the name of the village dates back to the 9th century. It was then called by its Latin name "campania", before becoming "champagne" around the 18th century. The quarrel with the Interprofession des vins de Champagne is not over, however. An amicable agreement is sought. In all, at the Jardin aux Etoiles, the Champagne in question is an exclusive reference to the Swiss village!

Contribution to a better environment? Our Champagne is made from just three lemons (100% organic, of course) from our garden, mixed with just under a liter of water from our well. Not a gram of sugar! This drink is not only thirst-quenching, but also very rich in vitamins C. Nothing better for the health. Ultimate environmental advantage, and not the least: the glass jar or bottle used to make our Champagne avoids the purchase of plastic bottles, which are difficult to dispose of.

Notre volonté écologique en sept points

Le Jardin aux Etoiles, votre villa en location, a été conçu sur la base d'une réelle volonté écologique, dans un pays où, pour l'essentiel de la population, les moyens d'existence au quotidien passent bien avant la sensibilisation à la protection de notre environnement. Mais n'avons-nous pas la responsabilité de montrer, par notre comportement, que l'avenir du Maroc dépend lui aussi des gestes qui concourent à un meilleur bilan écologique ?
Construction

​Votre riad en location regarde, toutes fenêtres ouvertes, vers le nord. Il s'agit de rechercher la fraîcheur, tandis que la façade sud est complètement privée d'ouvertures, afin de conserver la fraîcheur à l'intérieur, respectivement une certaine douceur en hiver.

Parfaitement écologique, cette technique de construction est ancestrale. C'est celle des Berbères, premiers habitants du pays, avant que les Arabes ne s'y établissent.

Piscine
intelligente

L'excavation de la piscine a été en elle-même un acte écologique intelligent. Il fallait limiter les transports de briques destinées à la construction du riad, en même temps qu'utiliser la terre extraite du sol, pour en faire des briques de terre crue, à savoir du pisé. 



Les mètres cubes de terres extraites au nord de la villa en construction (photo) ont ainsi permis de construire quasiment toute la villa.

Climatisation naturelle
Eau recyclée

​Les briques de pisé (photo) ont été séchées au soleil. Faites d'un mélange de terre, de paille et d'eau, elles ont été cimentées, pour créer les murs de votre villa en location. Des piliers de béton ont assuré la solidité de l'ensemble, tels un jeu de meccano. 



Le pisé assure une climatisation naturelle, et pas seulement au Maroc, mais dans toute l'Afrique. En été, par forte chaleur, la température de nos pièces intérieures est ainsi de 10 degrés inférieure par rapport à l'extérieur. En hiver, le pisé maintient une certaine chaleur à l'intérieur. Nous disposons toutefois de chauffages d'appoint et d'appareils mobiles de ventilation pour le confort de nos hôtes, seule concession faite à notre volonté écologique. A cela s'ajoute notre cheminée de salon.

 

L'eau utilisée par les hôtes de notre riad en location est recyclée. Puisée dans la nappe phréatique, grâce à un puits de 120 mètres de profondeur et stockée dans notre château d'eau, pour donner la pression nécessaire, l'eau du Jardin aux Etoiles retourne à la nappe phréatique.

L'eau grise est en effet récupérée par les canalisations, d'abord à  l'intérieur du bâtiment, puis jusqu'à un séparateur situé à l'extérieur du riad. Cette chambre de béton  permet de récupérer ultérieurement les boues. L'eau claire qui en résulte finit dans un puits de plus de cinq mètres de profondeur. Ce dernier dispose d'un filtre naturel formé de cailloux. Notre photo montre le travail d'excavation de ce puits, effectué avec une pioche !

 

Déchets
Panneaux solaires

​Le tri des déchets est très difficile à réaliser dans le sud du Maroc. Sous le double évier de la cuisine, nous avons toutefois installé deux poubelles. L'une est prévue pour recevoir les déchets compostables : restes de fruits, de légumes, de fleurs. L'autre est destinée à tous les autres déchets.



Cette solution provisoire ne nous satisfait pas. Certes, on parvient à réaliser ainsi un premier tri et à récupérer de la terre d'engrais. Mais les autres déchets ne sont nullement réutilisables, en l'absence de toute possibilité de ramassage différencié (métal, verre, carton, papier). Il existe néanmoins une association nommée actionprogres.com (photo) qui avait commencé un très louable travail de tri écologique. Hélas les bonnes intentions se sont perdues en cours de route, comme trop souvent au Maroc et elles en sont restées à l'attribution d'un prix du Comité marocain du tourisme responsable (sic). Espérons néanmoins à une résurrection...

​Votre riad en location est doté de deux panneaux solaires thermiques. Installés au-dessus des chambres Taroudant et Agadir (photo), ils chauffent l'eau consommée dans les salles de bain et à la cuisine. Il s'agit d'appareils de la marque grecque Dimas Solar. De l'électricité est ainsi précieusement économisée.



Dépendant de ses importations, d'où des coupures assez fréquentes du réseau, le Maroc est en train d'accomplir de gros efforts pour produire sa propre énergie électrique - qui est à l'heure actuelle excessivement chère pour le consommateur - grâce à des parcs solaires comme celui de Ouarzazate.

Au Jardin aux Etoiles, la prochaine démarche écologique pourrait consister à installer des panneaux solaires pour produire de l'électricité. Les artisans marocains sont toutefois loin de maîtriser les techniques liées au solaire chez les particuliers. La prudence est donc de mise...

Muraille verte

​Le Jardin aux Etoiles est entouré d'une magnifique muraille végétale. Celle-ci est composée de centaines de figuiers de barbarie (notre photo), qui donnent de jolies fleurs jaunes au printemps et des fruits en été, ainsi que de cactus autochtones plantés lors de la construction du riad. On y a ajouté des ronces lorsque cela s'est révélé nécessaire, ainsi que des arbres côté ouest, pour protéger les orangers, les mandariniers et les pamplemoussiers du vent de la mer.

 

Attachés à l'idée qu'une maison doit être entourée d'un haut mur en maçonnerie, certains Marocains comprennent mal l'intérêt écologique et visuel d'une muraille végétale. Rassurons-les du point de vue de la sécurité : notre muraille, qui fait un mètre de largeur et au moins deux de hauteur, est tout aussi sûre, sinon davantage, qu'un haut mur. Et, au Jardin aux Etoiles, nos chiens se chargeraient d'accueillir les éventuels importuns à leur manière... Sans compter nos caméras d'observation - en partie solaires comme il se doit. N'en disons pas davantage...

Renseignements complémentaires sur le riad  : +41 79 240 26 32